Outstanding Alumnae of Texas A&M University Receive Women’s Legacy Award

March 19, 2012 in News, Press Releases

College Station, Texas, November 13, 2009 – Over 200 members and guests of the Women Former Students’ Network (WFSN) of Texas A&M University gathered to honor outstanding women alumnae, faculty and students.

The second annual WFSN Membership Meeting and Award Luncheon brought together Aggie Women from around the country to network, mentor and recognize the past, present and future women of Texas A&M.

“Today’s recognition is a wonderful opportunity to let the world see where Aggie Women shine – from the classroom to the boardroom. Through their leadership, scholarship and service, they are central to the success of Texas A&M University,” said Carol E. Jordan, 2009 President of the Women Former Students’ Network and class of 1980.

“We established the Women’s Legacy Award to honor women who have achieved excellence as a student or former student, added Ms. Jordan, “and whose accomplishments have had an impact on future generations of Aggie Women.”

In 2008, its inaugural year, the Women’s Legacy Award was bestowed upon four members of the very first entering class of women at Texas A&M University.

Recipients of the 2009 Women’s Legacy Award are:

Cydney Donnell ‘81 had a successful career in real estate before coming back to Texas A&M as Executive Professor at the Mays School of Business. For over 19 years, Cydney held various positions at European Investors, Inc. in New York, most notably as Managing Director and Principal. In 2004, Cydney began sharing her knowledge of portfolio management and real estate capital markets with the current students of Texas A&M. In addition to her duties at Texas A&M, Cydney serves on boards of American Campus Communities, Madison Harbor Balances Strategies, Inc. and Employees Retirement Fund of Texas. Cydney Donnell graduated Magna Cum Laude from Texas A&M University with a Bachelor’s of Business Administration in Finance and received an M.B.A. from Southern Methodist University in 1982.

Elizabeth Drake ‘87 is a scientist, business owner, mother and volunteer. She has had significant accomplishments in the field of Chemistry. She began her professional career as a Research and Process chemist in the chemical and hazardous waste industry and started her own company in 1997. Her company, CS2, was an Aggie 100 award winner – twice. The Aggie 100 identifies, recognizes and celebrates the 100 fastest growing Aggie-owned or Aggie-led businesses in the world. Elizabeth received her Bachelor’s of Science in Chemistry with a minor in computer Science from East Carolina University. She received her Master’s of Science in Chemistry from Texas A&M University in 1987.

Glenda Mariott ‘79 has spent almost 20 years in the male-dominated construction industry and has been a trailblazer and role model for women. She is a Certified Graduate Builder and, in 1996, received the Builder of the Year award from the Bryan/College Station Homebuilders Association. In 2002, she became the first woman to serve as President of The Association of Former Students. Glenda graduated from Texas A&M University with a Bachelor’s of Business Administration in Finance in 1979.

Barbara Pereira ‘84 has over 25 years of diversified commercial real estate expertise. She has financed, developed and structured commercial real estate investments in all 50 of the United States, Latin American, and Europe, the Middle East and Africa. When attending Texas A&M, she was active in student government, having served as Class of ’84 Vice President. After graduation, she continued her involvement with the University as class agent with the Association of Former Students for 10 years and recently has shared her commercial real estate expertise with students in the Mays School of Business’ Real Estate Master’s Program as guest speaker. Barbara received a Master’s in Real Estate in 1995 and a Bachelor’s of Business Administration in Accounting in 1984, both from Texas A&M University.

Special guests at the luncheon included Interim President R. Bowen Loftin; Porter Garner, President and CEO of the Association of Former Students; TAMU Women’s Basketball Coach Gary Blair; the TAMU Women’s Chorus; and the Texas Poet Laureate and 1986 graduate of Texas A&M Karla K. Morton.

Comments are closed.